Ok, I give in

Imaginos

I guess the sensible thing is to wait a while until I have some more experience and can build this bench right. The lure of the Benchcrafted site the Shcwarz's book was too much because I gave in last night and I'm bulding a Roubo anyway. I'll probably get the vise screws from Lie Nielsen or Veritas instead of the BC hardware; sexy as it is I just can't swing the good stuff anytime soon. I do have a problem that with no table saw, no jointer, no thickness planer, I think I've created a massive amount of work for myself. I got a Veritas bevel up jointer from my wife for christmas. That partially solved the milling problem and introduced a host of new sore spots in my shoulders and forearms.

Half of the back slab was done in about 4 hours of work and much frustration. Most of the boards wound up flat(ish), but significantly warped; after playing some Jenga they seem to clamp up fine in a dry fit with a good grain direction of flattening later (see the attached image). I'll probably glue them together two or three at a time just to make sure I'm bringing enough clamping pressure to bear. I'll call that step one and feel satisfied that I know more today than yesterday. Given how much time I have to spend on it, it may be done by late summer, maybe later. I forsee a few design changes that might come up, but I'll burn those bridges when I get there. I'm one the fence about doing a wagon vise too (I'm not sure I can pull that off). Round dog holes for sure.

So now the question.

Split top or not? How nightmareish is it going to be to level both slabs, by hand, across a gap like that? I think I'm already signing up for a lot of work in terms getting the slabs to a constant thickness with hand planes. It seems to me that even if I clamp them together for flattening, the non-glues seam is going to be hard to plane, particularly if I needed to work across the grain.

post-5526-0-64692800-1328725427_thumb.jp

don't loose heart.