New guy from eastern Washington

Nyles

Hello everyone.  My name is Nyles and im 38 years old and hailing from eastern washington (the dry side of the state).  I am a Journeyman electrician by trade and fairly new to the woodworking scene.  I first became interested in woodworking about 9 years ago when i was working at a local lumberyard here in Spokane before getting into the electrical trade.   I used to sneak into the shop on my lunch breaks and build little knick knacks for my house.  One of my good friends was one of the shop guys and he started teaching me as I built various small things.  I knew i was bitten by the bug at the time so i went out and bought a whole shops worth of tools and was eagerly looking forward to really tackling some projects however before my tools could even be delivered to my house i found myself in the middle of a nasty split up between me and my ex.  That pretty much put everything on hold and since i had to move out of my home, and lost my currently available shop space, i placed everything into a storage unit where it all sat, brand new in the box untouched for about 7 years.  Well about 2 years ago me and my new wife (somewhat happily remaried at the moment ;-) )  got into a small home that had a detatched garage as well as a fairly large basement and in order to afford the new house we had to get rid of my storage unit.  I contemplated selling off the tools but decided against it since i had paid for the storage and the tools over the last 7 years i may as well keep them.  They sat in a pile still in the boxes in our current homes detatched garage for about 2 years before finally one day i was just itching to do something with my time (currently laid off and a stay at home dad for my 1 year old daughter.)  so i decided id take a few days and clean out the basement and set up a small wood shop (emphasis on the small shop.)  so several days later i had a space cleared but no benches to set anything up so i begged everyone in my f