Confessions of a Neanderthal

bois

My name is Rob, and I use power tools. There, I said it. I've been loitering around TWW forums and chats for quite a few years now, and have always remained a pretty strong advocate for hand tools (especially those shiny bronze ones). I've always claimed to be a hybrid woodworker, but when it comes to finish prepping solid wood, I have always been squarely in the hand tool camp. I just love the way a piece of cherry shimmers after a pass with a sharp card scraper, and find the whoosh of a well tuned smoothing plane to be one of my favorite experiences in woodworking. So I feel a deep sense of guilt after the last project I worked on (which involved gluing up six 30" diameter hard maple laminations) forced me to explore alternative means. I ended up getting a Jet/Performax 16/32 drum sander to help me quickly level out the glued-up panels, and the tool performed magnificently. However, I could only reasonably get down to 150 grit, and the linear drum does leave noticeable sanding marks. now I'm back working on a sideboard with a 60" by 24" cherry top, leaving me a flat but somewhat scratched product out of the drum sander. Not wanting to lose momentum, I finally broke down and bought a Festool 6" random orbit sander to get me from drum sander to finish grit. And here's the worst part; I don't know why I didn't buy one sooner.

Yes, it's noisier, but the dust collection is second to none, and the finish even at 320 grit is possibly even better than I get with a card scraper. This weekend I was working on some frame and panel doors, and the ROS got me to the same point in about 10 minutes that my plane and scraper would have taken 2 hours. Those pesky rail and stile intersections were no problem for the random scratch pattern, while I always seem to have some small cross-grain scratches when I do this operation by hand - no matter how careful I am.