Rustic office furniture suite

bobcrosley

This could be, without a doubt, one of the dumber project journals on the site, but I tend to lack self-respect, so what the heck.

I work for a high-tech company, working from home. My current desk is the definition of 10 pounds of... stuff, in a 5 pound sack. Way too much stuff crammed on a desk that's way too small.And even then, I have small folding tables I set up occassionally for the laptops I don't use full-time.

So I need office furniture. And I have limited budget. With my budget, the stuff I can buy is too small and too limited. Craigslist hasn't really panned out either. While I spend most of my time working with high-tech stuff, I wanted something rustic. So, I've decided to build what I need myself. 

I have some experience, but not much. And I'm working with a minimum set of tools.

A recent Kreg newsletter had this farmhouse table from Ana White:

post-7964-0-58569800-1364515257_thumb.jp

I liked the overall look, and came up with a small version that I could use as a rustic farm table/desk. And an even smaller version to be a credenza. I plan to build a desk, credenza and some wall-mounted shelves. 

While I appreciate the idea that the table was designed to be quick to build from cheap materials, I'm going to try a few things differently.

You can't really see it in this picture, but in the original, some of the boards in the top don't even line up. This might be ok for trying to make it look like it's a 100 year-old table, but it won't work for my desk. I'm looking for a better result than that.

I have come up with some design tweaks to customize the look of the table, including some rustic hardware ideas. And while I'm going to be working with the same cheap materials as the original design, I'm going to try to get the best results by being careful about lumber selection, (within the bounds of 'cheap') and using my limited knowledge of fine woodworking to get the best results possible.