#3 Stanley and Plane

tomwassmer

I was given a no 3 that was my grandfather's.  It has been poorly sharpened for years and I'd like to put a good edge on it.  I'm not sure what bevel angle to put on it.  I got the MK II and love the ease of use.  That's what I will use to sharpen this.  I assume I will get responses asking what I will use this for.  To be honest, I am BRAND new to planes and this is one of two that was given to me by my Dad and I see myself using this one more often so I'll concentrate on this plane first.  I am a little unclear what a 3 is even for.  I've used it once so far to shave a little off a replacement fence picket to fit it into the existiing void...hardly fine woodworking but it was satisfying to make some shavings!  So all that said, my question remains, what's a good bevel angle to start with on this plane?

Its a smoothing plane. Used to put a final finish on a piece of wood.  3s can also make handy general purpose trimming planes.  I like a 30 or so degree bevel on my bench planes.  Lower than that I find I lose some edge longevity. 

25 degrees as a primary bevel on it. As you have the MKII you can put a microbevel on afterwards doing a couple of passes on a high grit stone. Don't forget to flatten the back of the blade first of all though.

Yes, what he said.  To clarify My preference for 30ish is as a final bevel angle. If your using micro bevels a lower primary is good.

Hi Tommy,

All good advice so far. If you want to see a simple approach in action this one

I have a number three stanley. It was mistake, my Dad thought he was buying a number 4. As Chris says the smoothing planes are for applying the final finish. The number 3 is ideal for smaller work or smaller hands. Enjoy using the family tools, it's a great feeling  :)