Clamp Station Design

AndrewRaastad

A couple weeks ago I saw this Woodsmith Tip on Twitter: http://www.woodworkingtips.com/etips/2008/08/14/sn/

I really liked it as it doesn't take up much space on the wall yet would allow me to have a fair number of clamps. I don't have many right now, but hey, always room for more. :)

The drawing was nice and I could sort of picture it in my head, but having read some of the posts on here and watched videos on things you can do with Sketchup, I wanted to try and recreate this thing in there so I could get a better idea of what it would actually look like. I have attached my file to the post here, grab it if you like. I am a very raw noob on Sketchup so I basically followed the design exactly, as I don't know how to do fancy stuff in there. I'm sure there is all kinds of things you could do with the design to spruce it up or "make it your own", but I think I am going to make my first attempt to plan.

I also tried using Cutlist, which I saw in a separate thread on here, but while I got it installed ok, I just could not get it to work right.... or at least how I thought it should. Ended up just drawing out my cut list on paper.... figured out I could build the whole thing from one 48"x48" sheet of 3/4" birch ply.

It was fun making this thing in Sketchup, bought my materials this weekend, hopefully I will get to work on building it next weekend.... but we all know how the best laid plans usually end up. :)

-- Andrew

Clamp Storage Rack.skp

I haven't built any clamp storage yet - for now I have just clamped the clamps to the ends of a set of shelves.

I see clamp storage systems with notches cut to hold each type of clamp. What's the advantage of doing that, vs just clamping the clamps to a horizontal piece of wood projecting from the wall? I don't clamp the clamps tightly, just enough that they don't fall off.

I haven't built any clamp storage yet - for now I have just clamped the clamps to the ends of a set of shelves.