New to woodworking

dpatrick80

I'm pretty new to woodworking, but I'm very fascinated by it...I would love to tackle some of the projects that I see on here, but I dont know where to find the different types of hardwood that everyone talks about.....where I live, my options are kind of limited to home improvement stores...the choices of hardwood are very slim.....any suggestions?

I'm pretty new to woodworking, but I'm very fascinated by it...I would love to tackle some of the projects that I see on here, but I dont know where to find the different types of hardwood that everyone talks about.....where I live, my options are kind of limited to home improvement stores...the choices of hardwood are very slim.....any suggestions?

If you are brand new to woodworking, the power tools, hand tools, etc. Cut your teeth on shop furniture. It's a much less expensive alternative to making mistakes with a fine piece of wood. Scour this forum, the internet, magazine articles, etc. There are huge volumes of information that will, hopefully, help you avoid some of the many pitfalls involved in the learning curve.

If you are brand new to woodworking, the power tools, hand tools, etc. Cut your teeth on shop furniture. It's a much less expensive alternative to making mistakes with a fine piece of wood. Scour this forum, the internet, magazine articles, etc. There are huge volumes of information that will, hopefully, help you avoid some of the many pitfalls involved in the learning curve.

I'm not so much new to the tools and things of that nature...I have done plenty of construction type jobs in the past, but its the fine detailed work that I'm new to...I see where you're coming from with starting off with cheaper wood...I intend to for some of the larger products....but in the meantime I'm just looking to do small jobs like a cutting board or something and need to be able to find the right types of wood to make one....