Setting-up Shop - Need Advice on a TableSaw

ngabriel

Hi all,

I'm setting up a shop from ground-zero and seeking some advice on table-saws. Space is not a huge concern for me, my working area is more than large enough to accommodate just about anything. Money of course is a concern, but I'm not looking to nickle-and-dime this purchase. I'm willing to pay for quality. I'm a novice woodworker (that is actually overstating my skill quite a bit) so I imagine that just about any tablesaw on the market will suite my initial needs. But, I want something that I can grow into that wont be wind up slowing my down as I gain experience.

In the past, I've worked a great deal with SawStop cabinet saws (just never owned one of my own). Being a Software Engineer by day, I've grown to appreciate the finger safety they offer. I'm pretty hooked on SawStop but would be willing to hear opinions on other brands (Powermatic, etc ...). What I'm really trying to get a sense for is what size I should be shooting for. SawStop has 110V 1.75HP models, larger 220V 5HP, models, etc ... The 110V machine is quite appealing to me as I do not have a 220 drop in my shop. But, I fear 1.75HP will prove to be under-powered in the long run. If I need to get a 220 hookup, I'd rather do that than fiddle with a dinky saw.

Before you ask what I want to do with my woodworking, I'll simply say "I don't know. Anything that does NOT involve a computer". Frankly, I'm interested in just about everything with the exception of turning (somehow that doesn't excite me). So a versatile machine is ultimately what I'm looking for.

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

P.S. I'm also looking forward to joining the guild. I just don't know much sense that makes until I'm setup with at least the essential tools.