Clean edges on mortises

Jon Ellwood

I'm new to woodworking (24 months or so) and do it as a hobby. 

I was looking for some feedback on getting clean lines when cutting mortises. Using a chisel I have a tough time keeping the edges from getting a little bent or chipped. Pretty much everything I have viewed or read says you cut the mortise after the piece after it is all milled. I was wondering if the mortise was cut before it was planed down to final thickness if this could help alleviate the slightly damaged edges. Say if I leave a 1/16th of an inch to plane down after the mortise is cut? I only have hand planes for thickness and smoothing - no planer (yet).

Thanks!

One of the mistakes I made was not using a knife/marking gauge to score the lines. That severs the fibers, which aids in removing chip/tear out. Next rookie mistake I was making was chiseling directly on that line. Big no no. What happens is there is nowhere for the wood to go, so it ends up damaging your lines (which will be your walls) as the chisel pushes backwards (because there is no path of least resistance). This happens in dovetails and mortises, principle is the same.

Are your chisels are sharp? Are you clearing out the bulk of the material inside of the mortise away from the edges?

29 minutes ago, OldSouthWoodCraft said:

What edges are you referring to as being bent or chipped?

I'm referring to the edges of the shoulders. I tend to squish them when chopping or don't quite get a good marking line all the way around. Clearly the best answer is to keep working on skills to do them the right way. lol.

Good advice from BP...the fact that it's moot on most mortises - unless they are through - kind of makes it a non-issue unless your mortises are so sloppy that it effects the fit of the tenon.