Arm-r-Seal over mineral oil butcher block

DTSquared

Hello,

I am rather new to refinishing and have been watching many of the videos/reading the forums.  I have been searching for an answer to refinishing a John Boos walnut butcher block top that originally had a mineral oil topcoat.  The edges on the top were pretty sharp so I rounded them slightly and then sanded the whole top starting with 100 and then 150 and a light wash with Mineral Spirits.   My paper is still gumming on the edges so I am concerned the mineral oil has not "dried" enough.  The top and bottom look almost raw again and are mostly powdering when sanding.  Eventually, I would like to apply one coat of Seal-a-Cell followed by two coats of Arm-r-Seal sanding between coats with 320.  I am concerned that the mineral oil may interfere with the GF oil topcoats and have see the question asked many of times about this but usually the OP never returns to give an update.  I have done a small test on the underside and both the Seal-a-Cell and Arm-a-Seal are drying but perhaps this small test is not enough.  I have seen several answers that suggest a seal coat with dewaxed shellac and others with washing down with Naptha or Acetone.   John Boos sells a product called "Ez-Do" which is manufactured by Lawrence McFadden and is very similar to GF's Gel Topcoat.  With Ez-Do it says you can use over a mineral oil top as long as it has been wiped dry and has been on at least 72 hours. 

I have been using the Arm-r-Seal on some raw walnut shelves and really like the result so far.  I would like the shelves and top to look similar and have the same level of protection.   If the Ez-do can be applied to a mineral oil top, I can see no reason why GF products should be a problem either.    Here is a link to the Ez-do product and the MSDS:  https://ardec.ca/en/p/415/ez-do

Can I eventually proceed with the Arm-r-Seal or just use Ez-do?  Are there any other recommendations you might all have?

Thanks,

DT