Laguna 8” jointer?

Gary S

Hey all! 

I’ve been woodworking for 2 years now Im looking to get my first jointer. I’ve searched and search on Craigslist but nothing that is in decent shape has come up. Everything is rusted out or missing parts. My budget is roughly $2k and I’ve been looking at the laguna 8” wedge bed but there aren’t really any reviews or much of anything online anywhere about it. I got a Woodcraft “Black Friday Sale” flyer in the mail where they are offering 10% off in-store laguna machinery and accessories purchases. I haven’t checked with my local store yet if this is actually true though. But if it’s true, I want to pull the trigger and get it but since there aren’t many reviews on it I’m a little hesitant. In any of the forums about laguna jointers everyone says get the grizzly 8” model because it’s cheaper but I really don’t want to wait months for it since it’s backordered. Does anyone have a laguna jointer or have any thoughts on it? I know the customer service can be kinda spotty. But other than that does anyone know anything about it? I’m just looking for a little help or advice. 

I don't know where you are at but there is a Mint PJ882 for sale in Minneapolis.

https://minneapolis.craigslist.org/hnp/tls/d/powermatic-jointer-8-mobile/6750171332.html

I feel like laguna is priced closer to the powermatics and if it were me i'd not take the change and i'd just get the PJ882 new or the wedge bed which i think is the 60c?

Ok nix the pj882 ... dang chineesse tarriffs the strait bladed version used to be $2200 10% on black friday is under $2k.

• Like 2

43 minutes ago, Chestnut said:

if it were me i'd not take the change and i'd just get the PJ882 new

I was also looking at that one. It’s my plan b if I didn’t hear anything about the laguna. Maybe I should just go with that one instead.