New woodworker in Austin

Texfire

Howdy!

I'm a guy who has lived most of his life in Austin, Texas. A little background info to explain where I'm coming from. I got my Bachelor of Fine Arts in Theatrical Arts from a small college in Shreveport. While part of that program I worked in the technical side of theater, doing work backstage, and this was my introduction to working with wood. We had a table saw, a radial arm saw and various instruments of destruction used to make sets. This was worlds away from fine woodworking, having even looser tolerances than frame carpentry. The stuff we built only had to last for a month or two at most, and only had to look good from one side. After college, I did the usual handyman tasks around the house, learning how to fix things the hard way and picking up as much information as I needed to be able to do small projects like a deck here, or a sink there. I considered myself an okay handyman, but my best skill was knowing my limitations and when to call an expert in. Then I got a divorce and moved into an apartment and my handyman days were on hiatus.

This changed recently, I bought a house. In the intermediate years of apartment living I had given away such tools as I had to those who could use them. But the new house had a wonderful thing. A garage. A place to keep my motorcycles, and tools to work on said motorcycle. And shelves to keep stuff on.