Chicagoan Here

Bullsfan586

Hello. I am relatively new to woodworking. I am in the process of improving my skills. I have build a workbench (pictured below) but little else. I currently have a miter saw, a circular saw, a Craftsman table saw, a jig saw, a Ryobi hammer drill, and a belt sander. I'm sure I'm forgetting something, but that's a start. I am currently shopping for a router, and I have three in mind (explained in another post). 

I want to build small pieces of furniture or whatever else strikes my fancy. I want to take some classes to teach me how to use my tools more effectively. I know that Rockler offers classes. I'm know my shop is incomplete. I want a band saw, a drill press, and (as stated previously) a router. If you think there is something else I need to add to my inventory, let me know. 

IMG_3992.jpg

Welcome @Bullsfan586.  I am in the Chicago area as well.  

This is a great hobby and great forum.  You'll enjoy participating in both.  As to what to buy next forget all that flatwork stuff and save your money for a lathe and turning tools.  OK, that was totally self serving advice (I'm a turner). 

Your available funds and space will dictate your aquisitions.  There are generally agreed upon "you really want these" tools (e.g. jointer planer), but to some degree let your future project plans inform your wish list.  You can actually make some stuff with what you have.

That said a router is useful tool and good investment.  I bought my first router when I had a project that needed it.  I have since aquired three and one member of the forum has eleven.  Maybe he should sell you one of his :o.   Used tools, by the way, are a good option; there are good values to be had.