pick a hand.. any hand..

jpdorn

so i'm a pretty new woodworker but i'm really new to handtools and i've run into an unexpected problem.

i can't decide which hand to use :P

i wouldn't describe myself as ambidextrous. more like, confused..

i can't often do something as well with one hand as the other but i do some things left handed and others right. with planing at least, i seem to prefer right handed (although, i'm actually not bad left handed either) but sawing is giving me fits..

i started sawing with smaller joinery type saws (dozuki, ryoba, 26" bowsaw) and after chasing many lines down the face of practice boards, i said to myself, 'ha! clearly sawing nirvana is to be found by pulling the saw with the left hand!' and all was right in the world..

then tonight, my new 39" bowsaw is delivered and i can't get it to cut well. the blade (the same as on my 26") is designed to cut on the pull stroke so i play with different clamping techniques, adjust my stance a little, nothing helps. then bam!

i flip that sucker around and PUSH it with my RIGHT hand. it feels like i'd been doing it that way my whole life. i chewed through all the scrap i could find in minutes. this saw really eats up wood compared to the others i've used so far. surprisingly effortless and LOTS of fun ;)

the joy of finally experiencing good quality, sharp saws is tempered just a little by my confusion over handedness, so my questions to all of you are these..

can you think of any reason to prefer one hand over the other? or might it be worthwhile to cultivate the skill with both hands so i can always keep the pencil line between myself and the blade?