Danish oil "seeping/weeping" in spots through black walnut

MikeAndSon

My son and I are total novices. We are finishing a slab of black walnut for coffee table, and on advice, we started the process with Danish oil (watco).For 3 coats, it took the oil unevenly and did not start to develop a sheen. But we did notice a little of what I now I understand is a "seeping" or "weeping" prob. Little spots of oil seep up through the wood after wiping, even into the next day. We would wipe away as we saw them. then after a couple days, we poured on a 4th coat and let it sit longer before wiping. Finally started to get a little sheen to half the slab. But now there was more regular seeping problem. Every day there were new drops coming up through wood. You can see small circles like faint "stain" spots all over the surface from where these drops are coming through. We waited SIX days from last coat, no more weeping, and then sanded wood with 220 paper to see if it would remove the small circles. It did partially, but now more oil is seeping out again after the sanding. We are not sure what we need to do but don't want to apply any other finish till oil is done coming out, and it seems there's still a lot of oil in it.

Danish oil is a unique critter. My preference is to flood it on, wet sand with #600, then wipe away the excess. Dry overnight, repeat. It never builds a sheen this way, but develops a buttery-smooth luster that is very sensual to the touch. 

Being of high oil content, I guess the weeping issue can be trouble if you over-saturate the first coat, but I've only ever experienced that with pure oils. I'd suggest wiping it down once or twice a day with mineral spirits, to remove the weeps, but it sounds like you have it under control.

On 6/7/2023 at 8:05 PM, Von said:

I'm not sure this is relevant since it's about pure oils and not Danish, but Marc did a video recently on applying oils that touched on similar issues: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OLW9f9Dw5Gg