I need a new saw

Knotscott: I’m just a hobbyist but I like well-made tools and while the price a consideration $3K or so isn’t a problem. I’m not a sawstop fan for several reasons although the safety factor is ok but not enough to sway me one way or another. And the delta unisaw does look good. I might give it another look. General tools I know nothing about and do not know anyone who has a general tool of any kind. I’ll do some more looking.

Sawsucker: Thanks for the warning. I just called the powermatic customer service and was told the saws are make in Taiwan. So the unisaw is looking better.

Miles.

Miles - General is a family owned Canadian business, and the General line is manufactured in Quebec AFAIK....considered by many to be first rate industrial tools. They also own the General International line that is primarily made in Taiwan/Asia, and is more on par with Jet, Grizzly, Shop Fox, Steel City, and other decent imports.

FWIW, I'm with you on the Saw Stop....I found his heavy handed marketing antics to be deplorable, and haven't quite gotten beyond it yet.

These days its getting harder and harder to find a tool that is truly "made in the USA". Even the companies that use that as a selling point still get a good amount of their parts from overseas, and the assembly is done in the US. So if being US-made is one of your criteria, your shopping list gets a whole lot smaller, as does the variety of options. Of course there's no shortage of foreign-made garbage on the market but I wouldn't say its all bad. My shop is filled with Taiwanese iron and things are working quite well.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with some imports. Grizzly, for example, makes excellent products. I've used them for years with no complaints. Their customer service is top notch.

All my Grizzly machines required a little assembly. Some more than others. So I guess you could say that all my Grizzly equipment was, in part, made in the USA.