SawStop 5hp for 3k. Worth it?

rydell

SawStop Options  

31 members have voted

1. 1. For around $3000, which would you get? A very lightly used 5HP Industrial SawStop or brand spankin new 3HP Professional model?

I’m currently in the market for a SawStop table saw. I was originally thinking about getting the contractor saw, or maybe even the 3hp professional saw, but I came across an opportunity to get a very lightly used 5hp Industrial single phase SawStop for 3k. It’s got cast iron wings, wheeled base, and 52” rails.

I’m a hobbyist woodworker and I do know that the 5HP is so much more than I would ever need power-wise. In fact, I’ve got a Ridgid 1.5hp TS3650 as my table saw now.

Looking around, it looks like I can get a new 3hp professional saw for around 3k, so the question is whether or not you think it’s worth it to pick up the used 5hp. What say you?

The 52" fence on the 3hp PCS will run you as much or maybe more. The PCS doesn't have cast wings. The blade guard on the PCS has better dust collection than the ICS, but you can buy the new guard from SawStop effectively negating that difference.

Is it single-phase? If not, I'd think more unless you already have a static or rotary phase converter; that would add a lot.

I'd jump on it. Nice score.

Here are my thoughts...

• figure out what options you want, and then price out each model with those options.
  • don't pay for options you don't want (like 5HP vs 3HP)
  • as a rule of thumb, I won't pay more than 50% of the "new" price for a unit without a warranty. But there are exceptions.
  • do you have room for 52" rails? Really? Did you draw a shop layout ?
  • the way I see it, a complicated tool is most likely to need service when it is disassembled, moved to a new location, and re-assembled.

Well, personally I like buying new to get warrantees and support should I need it. Also, I like to damage my own tools not repair other folks damage :)