Hello I am from San Jose, Ca

chicks82

Hello everyone,

My name is Charles Hicks and I have been working in the construction field now for about 9 years on and off. I do mostly finish work but can do it all. I love to work in my shop and I tend to do the jobs that most other companies won't touch with a 10' pole. I am 4th generation, yep my dad taught me :). I look forward to getting to know the people in this community. I am also looking to learn and also pass on the knowledge I have gained.

Along with loving to work with wood I also play with metal and many other things :) I also program both iOS apps and Android apps. I just love to create stuff what can I say :)

Hi Charles

Welcome to Wood Talk Online , glad you join the rest of us knotheads . Look forward to learning from your years of finish carpentry experience . Where about on this big rock are you ? Check out the live chat and live web cams , they can be pretty interesting at times .

Regards

Jerry

Hey Charles,

My reply got lost in the forum upgrade... so here's another. First off, welcome to the community, I'm sure you'll get a lot out of it. I live in Oakland and work at Google in Mountain View. I'm into building furniture and am slowly building my skills and dream of building a Gamble House inspired Dining Table. I have a blog at http://www.bltww.com/ which has been neglected in the last month due to a 3-way combo of Vacation, Work, and getting Engaged.

Welcome,

So, 4th generation carpenter? That's impressive! Must be great to have the opportunity to learn the work from your dad and grand dad (and maybe more?).

I learned recently that my great-grand father was a carpenter too. too bad that's a bit too far in the past for me.

Thanks all for the warm welcome. I am from San Jose, California.

Konkers I don't know if you have a shop or not but i am moving mine this weekend and when i get it up and running i will let ya know if you want to come and check it out.