Respirator Helmets...

went_postal

I wear an original Trend Airshield. Its a nice unit once i made a battery pack for it. The factory battery packs are lousy. They have a new unit out too, but I do not know anything about it.

The Triton has a belt pack that you have to wear, plus some goofy hardhat with earmuffs i believe. I do not think i would enjoy wearing that one.

3M also makes one, but at almost double the price of the tritons and trends. Bill Grumbine swears by his. I have no experience with it.

One thing about the original Trend, is the head band has given me some problems in that part of it breaks and does not allow the hood to stay up. These are easily replaced, and at around $2 a pop i believe its a non issue. This in no way effects the fit or function of the hood. Just the annoyance that it wont stay up when lifted. I do not know if the second generation uses the same headband setup as the original. It would be worth a call to find out if you are interested in it.

http://www.trendairshield.com/

Hope this helps you make an informed decision.

Roger

Hi Went. I own 2 units, both of which blow air over your face. One is the triton and it is a pain to wear. The battery pack straps to your waist and there is a tube that is always kinking or pushing the helmet forward or pulling it back. I hate the thing.

I ended up buying the purelite extreme and love it. Lithium ion battery that lives in the helmet and will run a full 8 hours. It takes a little getting used to the helmet but I found that after a few goes, you get the knack of how to balance the thing properly on your head and how tight or lose the strap has to be. Here are some pics and also a video that I made that the helmet appears in and is discussed near the end.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZrIOCKN7LhM

There are two reason to go with a respirator helmet rig:

• You want to protection that just goggles, or even a face shield