I need a new dust collector - which one?

adambaum

All,

I currently have a Jet DC600 or DC650. Not sure of the model #, but I can tell you it's the small one. It has the standard bag that came with it and for lack of a better description, it doesn't suck enough. :D It can't deal with my planer and cabinet saw, among other issues. Also has issues grabbing the dust when I sand on a lathe (using a hood). SO I figure it's time to upgrade. My requirements are:

• Run on 220V
  • Disposable bags - I hate having to empty my DC..seems like I get more on me than what goes in the trash.
  • Not too tall - I work in my garage
  • Can be mobile - I work in my garage so it will be rolled around
  • Reasonable dimensions - again, I work in a garage and it will be mobile
  • Will not be ducted - I don't mind moving a hose from tool to tool.
  • Can handle a planar and cabinet saw
  • $1200 or less, includes tax and shipping to Arizona although I am willing to go a bit higher if it means a significant bump in quality and capability.

Recommendations? I see 2HP Grizzlys for under $500 so I know I should be able to find a good quality unit to fit my needs.

Adam

Bam! Comes with a remote and you could easily line the drum with a bag.

Being mobile, I like the fact that the sound level is only 74db. Almost hard to believe. You can check one review here. It was posted about 10 months ago. The same guy did a follow up review here about 8 months ago. I see Laguna also makes a 3HP version of this mobile DC as well. It's quite large. One guy on the Rockler website gave the 2HP unit a 1 star rating for instructions (click on the Review tab), but didn't return to comment on how the machine performed for him. I have to believe there must be a lower cost alternative to these Laguna DC's. Maybe not as quiet, but with hearing protection perhaps not an issue.