Confused about Food Safe Sealers

kre8tiv1

Hello Everyone,

I'm a newbie to this forum and I'm hoping that the incredibly knowledgeable participants can help me. I have spent the better part of the weekend researching food safe sealers and I'm so confused :unsure:

I am refinishing a wood table and adding glass mosaic on top. I need a sealer that is food safe, as it will be used as a kitchen table.

I've tried Google searching for food safe epoxy, food safe sealers, etc., but the search usually brings up manufacturers websites that list all sorts of technical stuff that I don't understand!

So, simple question...does anyone know of a food safe sealer that I can use on my table top that would be compatible with both wood and glass?

Many thanks,

Lin

IMO for a table, a food safe finish isn't necessary. It's really only needed when food that you're eating or preparing will come in direct contact before it hits your mouth :) I.e. Cutting boards, plates, etc.. I'd use a tough finish like a poly to stand up to the wear and tear of sliding plates, spills, hot pots, etc...

• Like 1

OK, when I was making toys for my daughter I was in your shoes; I knew she was going to be chewing (sorry; teething :) on the them and wanted a tough, safe finish. A product I've used a fair amount is made by Crystalac (sold through McFeely's) http://www.mcfeelys.com/product/CLP-1600/Gallon-Semi-Gloss-2001-CrystaLac-Water-Based-Wood-Finish

It's rated as food safe, and safe for use on childrens toys, chemical resistant, etc... I really like it; hard finish and very forgiving on the application.. I'm sure there are others, but this is one that I am familiar with.

Hope this helps!

According to Bob Flexner, the king of finishes...