Which is the best table saw?

MikeMc

Before the flame wars start ;]

I am relatively new to woodworking and dont have a lot of experience with the equipment in the industry. I currently have a Ryobi 10" table saw purchased for about $120.00. I put a wood facing on the fence but the saw just cannot be relied upon to make good cuts and lining up the blade against the fence is a lot of work.

So, I am interested in a cabinet level table saw as the first real piece of my wood shop.

I have looked at the Saw Stop brand and am very impressed with the safety features. It seems to add between $700 & $1000 dollars to the saw although how much does a finger cost?

To be honest, after considering granite and cast iron table tops I have to admit that I am probably not good enough at woodworking for the difference to matter. How rare is it for a cast iron table to warp? Living in Phoenix the table will have to endure 110 degrees to 70 degrees on a regular basis.

One of my primary goals is to get a table and/or fence system that makes measuring and cutting pieces very easy. I am not sure if one manufacturer stands out in this regard or buying a table from one and a fence from another is the best way to go.

Are there any other features or capabilities of a table saw that make it stand out from the other models or manufacturers?

I would like to go into this purchase with the most knowledge possible. Thanks in advance.

Mike,

I would be another vote for the SawStop. It took me two years to save the money for the Industrial SawStop (at the time it was the only option)and I have never regretted it. It is by far one of my favorite and best tools I own. And now with the Contractor, Hybrid, Professional lineup it is even easier to do. I will also say that for me the customer service from the local dealer and SawStop have been great even years after the purchase.

-Gary