How to keep wood from tearing off the lathe?

photomac54

Hey, I am new to wood turning and of course running into lots of challenging problems. The biggest problem that I am having that I can't fix is keeping mostly softwood from not coming off the lathe. As I am turning, the tailstock starts to tear a large hole in the side or violently rips through the wood and then the piece of wood becomes wobbly. The piece of wood would come off the lathe if I just let it keep spinning. This has mostly happened with scrap pieces of pine that I have been practicing with and some other random pieces of wood that are very old and dry (these seems to wear away at the tail end). I gave up on using the four prong piece on the head stock because that was ripping through the wood as well and started using my lathe chuck. This method is still not fool proof but much more effective. I have turned a couple pieces of lacewood and mahogany with no problem though. I have determined that this has to do with the wood not being hard enough to take the pressure but I do not know how to fix this? If anyone has any suggestions I would greatly appreciate it.

Depends if you are using a mortise or a tenon to hold the work. I had a guy tell me once, end grain you clamp down on, long grain you squeeze out. Basically you cut a pocket into the long grain and open the jaws until tight, end grain you cut a tenon and squeeze tight on it. Hopefully someone can explain it a little better and maybe with a picture or two.