Thinking of going into PT business

sgregory

I am thinking of starting a part time business creating smaller, quick turn around projects to earn some extra money; which in turn can finance some bigger projects. My question to some of you long time woodworkers is this: what are some of those smaller projects I can turn out that have a decent profit margin?

I've batched out quite a few of the end grain cutting boards in different sizes and have had mized luck. I am in WI...and being new to selling my items vs. giving them away as presents...I really dont know what to do!

I would consider my skill level above average, but well below a master. I have been doing this hobby for about 10 years now so I have a good base of knowledge. But I also have a limited shop...my shop being my garage :)

Any input would be greatly appreciated!

-Steve

i have done a few craft shows and people want unique iteams.  for example when i batched out pens while everyone thought they were cool they took long time to sell even though i was selling for 10$  but the small turned keep sake boxes with simple inlays in the top i made and sold for 40 bucks each and they took about the same amount of effort.  so my advice is if you do the craft show thing make stuff that is unique looking and artistic.  and usualy its women that buy stuff at those sales so make stuff that a women would pick up and want to buy.

Thanks guys, I appreciate the input! Some of those things I hadnt even thought of. Most of my projects that I do currently focus on furniture and toyboxes... I think I will try to bang out some unique jewlery / keepsake boxes. Next thing will be to figure out how to sell them.

and is it just me, or when you try to price your items out by looking online do you wonder how they come up with that exorbanant price? I was pricing the endgrain boards I do and see them in the 300+ range. Below