Craftsman Jointer / Planer - Need your guidance

Illini40

Hello,

As I try to move from complete beginner to just a woodworking beginner, I've been trying to find a used planer and/or jointer. I came across the unit in the link below. What are your thoughts?

http://chicago.craigslist.org/wcl/tls/4937617268.html

I'm a little confused on the "jointer/planer" concept. I always understood them to be seperate tools? Could you help me understand?

My main interest is to be anbke to joint.

I have the exact machine, I bought it nearly unused I think I paid 200 for it. As a planer, I am not a fan but as a jointer It is more than adequate for my needs, it is only a 2 blade machine and the cutter speed is a little slower than it could be so if you feed the material too fast it leaves a dimpled surface, as you get to the end of the process of getting a straight edge, back of the depth of cut and slow the feed rate and you can get an edge that is plenty good enough edge for gluing.

look the blades over well for signs of abuse and check for bearing play in the cutting head, take a straight edge, run the input tabs up flush with the out feed table and check for parallel surfaces

They are in fact separate tools (aside from combo machines).

I think at some point craftsman marketed jointers as Jointer / Planers.

I have a slightly older model of the same jointer. Once you get it setup and dialed in, it does a pretty decent job. You can probably find one a little cheaper, but if it's in good condition it's worth the asking price.

Can you describe the process for changing blades? Someone mentioned that some Craftsman units just dropped the blades in - not sure if this unit is the same or not....

I don't want to pull my hair out to trying to change blades and getting it setup.

Concerned about how much mechanical skills are needed to adjust it....

They are in fact separate tools (aside from combo machines).