Display case questions

dlmorgan999

I am about to embark on my second project.  This will be a display case made from Walnut.   I got the basic idea from photos I saw on a forum somewhere (I don't remember where).   The case will be ~ 24" high x 20" wide x 3" deep.  There will be adjustable 1/2" thick shelves (three or four - I haven't firmed that up yet).  Also, I may be putting a dado in the bottom center of each shelf to hold an LED lighting strip. 

I want to use glass inset for the door, and I've never done this before.  From what I've been reading here, it sounds like I should put a rabbet in the back side of the door frame (the frame will be 1.5 - 2 inches wide) and then use clear caulk (Lexel or similar) to fasten the glass in. Is that all there is to it, or should I do more?

The other thing I'd like to do is use a mirror on the back, but I also don't know how to go about doing that.  It seems that if the back is going to be mostly covered by the mirror, I could use 1/4" plywood or something for reduction of both cost and weight.  But if any of it would end up being visible then I wouldn't want to do that.  Then there is the question of how best to fasten the mirror.  Maybe I could use the same method as the door (mount the mirror in the back of a frame)?  In that case, I would obviously use Walnut instead of plywood.

Any help / advice / pointers would be greatly appreciated!

Rather than caulking the glass in place, consider using glazier's points, as in traditional window frames, or make the rabbet deep enough to accept the glass + a thin frame to hold it in with screws. Gluing the glass in makes for a mess if it ever breaks, and needs replacement.

If you want the back of the case as a mirror, I would make it in a frame, similar to the door, then use the framed mirror as if it were a panel.

• Like 2