Live Edge, Maple Burl Coffee Table

Chris H

This is my first project journal, though I have read many of them, and figured it was my turn to contribute instead of just benefiting.  This is probably one of my favorite sections of this forums, and usually one of my favorite places to kill some time when I have it.

Background on this project:  I normally surf Ebay for figured lumber for pen making.  I typically buy a small slab and then mill it into blanks myself.  A figured blank from a woodworking store (Rockler, PSI, Woodcraft, ect.) usually runs $5-$10 a blank for 3/4" x 3/4" x 5".  I can typically get >1" x >1" x >6" for around $1-$2 a blank, when I mill it from larger stock.  Cost varies wildly by species, but on average, it nets out to pretty good savings.  While shopping for pen blanks, I found an auction that was clearly not posted by a person with a heavy knowledge of either lumber wood or ebay (maybe both?), so I flagged it to watch and I was able to get it for below asking price.  The piece was poorly photographed, so it was a bit of a gamble, but from what I have uncovered so far, it looks like a decent find.  

My wife doesn't care the look of live edge tables, so I may be selling this one when I am done, but that will depend on how the build goes, and if I am able to change her mind once she sees it finished.  So, it's not being built for a client, but I don't know if it will end up with one in the end.  

My initial design inspiration is from a table that was in FWW a while ago. post-7224-0-75222200-1364221278_thumb.jp

I like the design of the legs on the FWW table, but I am not sure if I want to do the same thing or not.  I would love to hear recommendations for the legs.  I was playing with the idea of getting some maple scraps from the local mill and doing natural log/stick leg(s).  That will depend if I can find some that I like for a good price (hoping free if they are scraps).