LA jack benefits

Tony Wilkins

I have my shooting board all ready and tried using it with what planes I have. With my LV 5 1/4 it tended to catch a lot and chatter. It works well with my only BU plane but unfortunately that a joiner. It's long enough that I have to stand clear on the pull back.

I'm open to suggestions of technique to use the BD Jack more efficiently.

I was also thinking of tool options. I know there are new and highly effective shooting planes on the market now but I think I'm a little new in woodworking to go for that one trick pony.

So I got to thinking of a BU jack plane. I' know that it's main benefit is versatility. However, I've got a smoother, jack, and joiner so would it be of much help in addition to those planes?

What is my best route going forward?

Dangerous bonus question: my one LN plane experience was less than comfortable and my LV planes have all fit me quite well, however I really like the package and adjustements of the LN? Is there much difference between them?

TIA, Tony

There's not much difference except appearance...they're both high quality tools.

A low angle plane is going to be much better for planing end grain...and that's pretty much all it's good for unless you have other blades with higher angle bevels.  I bought the LN62 specifically for shooting.  It's a versatile plane but I bought it for only one purpose.

I use my LN #62 for almost everything. Very versatile plane. It's the most comfortable plane I've ever used. :)

More to the point... The plane is not necessarily meant for only shooting or end grain. It's just good at it! And the blade comes with the bevel set at the right angle for it. As Eric stated, the plane excels in other areas depending on which bevel angle you use.

Marc did a great video of this point. There is also an article by Chris Becksvort in FWW about it.

Being a hand tool only guy, you may grow tired switching blades in order to make it work well in other areas.