What makes a great woodworking website?

adamking

I'm getting ready to re-brand my furniture studio and that means rethinking the design of Adam King Studio. I don't like it as it is. It needs a major overhaul. So, that's led me to sit down and really consider what makes a great site for showing and selling handmade furniture? What features should be included, and what can be eliminated? Are there certain colors to look at? What kind of a layout would allow me to show my furniture off in the best way possible?

What do you all think?

I'm a web developer during the day, so I can share from that side.

1. The page needs to load fast.
  2. keep pages simple. Content is king, don't let a pages graphical design get in the way of content presentation.
  3. Make the content easy to find, in other words have a good menu or sidebar system.

I'm getting ready to re-brand my furniture studio and that means rethinking the design of Adam King Studio. I don't like it as it is. It needs a major overhaul. So, that's led me to sit down and really consider what makes a great site for showing and selling handmade furniture? What features should be included, and what can be eliminated? Are there certain colors to look at? What kind of a layout would allow me to show my furniture off in the best way possible?

What do you all think?

That's what I'm thinking about as well. I have two sites in the works and I'm working with a web designer and my wife who is a graphic artist. I've been showings them parts of web sites that I do like, colors, layout etc. Hopefully a couple of nice sites will come from it, I'm not in a rush so I've been taking time to research and explore ideas. It's really not an easy task for my wife & designer because I want the sites to be a extension of me and my work. I guess I'm tough to work for ;-)