Opinions wanted: Router table-fence-lift-router

Jamie McGannon

Hi guys and gals, I'm in the market for my first router table and have reviewed many of the different brands/models and would love to hear the opinions from the online community. 

What do you like and dislike about your router table? Please indicate which model.

Which lift do you have? Pros and cons?

Which fence system do you have? Pros and cons?

I know you have opinions on your router, let me hear them!

Lastly, after you gained more experience in woodworking, would you have purchased the router table configuration. 

I am a hobbyist woodworker who prefers to invest in good tools rather than buying just to get the job done. 

Thanks for reading and for sharing your opinions.

Jamie

I currently have a hybrid off-the-shelf / DIY router table station based on a modified version of Norm Abram's router table base. A good while back when I was more inexperienced and had limited tools, I had purchased the Kreg fence, eventually purchasing the Kreg table top and then building my own base. The Kreg fence has some nice features, the top is nicer than any laminate I've used for shop stuff in the past and the micro adjusting capabilities is more handy than you might think. However, I found that my fence was just a hair out of square on both sides, requiring me to shim it to get it perfect. It has a jointing capability using two rods, but I have no use for this now that I have a jointer.