Wanna Go Pro?

adamking

Hey all,

At one time or another, the thought of making a living with woodworking had probably crossed your mind. It seems more like a pipe dream some days than a possible reality. Huge questions, doubts, fears, and the unknown can really keep you from making great strides in this direction.

Welcome to the Going Pro section of The Wood Whisperer Forum. Here, you can ask your questions, pass along your valuable insights, and share your unique experiences along the path of making a true living through woodworking.

Whether you've just been toying with the idea, been a veteran for decades, or are something in-between, there's plenty of room for you here in the Going Pro section. We all have value to inspire others with.

I am attempting the "go slow pro" route. Luckily I have a wife that has a good job with benefits that allows me the flexibility to attempt this. I have been a web designer for 12+ years, so transitioning from the freelance web design world to the custom furniture one will hopefully be easier financially. I have made pieces for people over the years, but not enough to let dust accumulate on my mouse yet. The biggest frustration has been with people expecting custom furniture to be cheaper then what is in the store. I think the home improvement shows that are on TV attribute to that. The host make something out of MDF, throw some paint on it, and it's done in a day or two. Reality shocks a lot of people as to how much work really goes into it. It does feel good when I meet a client that understands the level of work, thought and preparation that goes into a project.

Jonathan

======================================================