Frankenplane

outofstepper

Greets all. Lurker / first post. Great forum.

I'm relatively new to woodworking -- and am starting to build a basic tool set.

by basic I mean, the highest quality I can afford now.. and growing slowly.

That said I've just picked up two veritas planes, the jointer and the older

bevel-up smooth plane. (the $20 I saved on that one went to a dovetail saw).

Anyway, they haven't shown up yet, but I need to flesh the set out with a

scrub / roughing.

In order to save some cash (or get something else), I'd like to put what could

be a very stupid question out there; so apologies in advance.

Could "my friend" just order a second iron for the smooth plane and put a 3" or

so radius on the business end, drop it in the smoother, and use it as a scrub?

The mouth looks like it might open up enough.. though the bevel up design might

make the angles invovled a little ugly.

Thoughts?

Thanks!

-Tony

I have heard that you don't need to break the bank on a jack plane and tend to agree that tight tolerances are not needed. I think you would benefit from a jack that has a longer sole than your smoother and suggest a look at eBay or a cheapie. Once you have your planes setup, you don't want to have to mess with them I you can help it because once it becomes a pain to start swapping setups, that's when it stops being fun.

I have to agree with Mike. Pick up an old stanley #5, Grind a 6" radius camber on the iron and you are good to go. You can probably do this for less than 40 bux. Pick up a second blade and grind an 8" camber on that. This way you can scrub till the cows come home. I have a Stanley 40 that is a wood eating machine. Real easy to get carried away with it and hog of to much material. Also, going this route leaves more money for other things.

Roger

Could "my friend" just order a second iron for the smooth plane and put a 3" or

so radius on the business end, drop it in the smoother, and use it as a scrub?