what to do with a bandsaw when not in use??

bullson

hi all :D

i have finally got round to getting myself a bandsaw for the first time B)... having got the hang of using a bandsaw and setting everything up as i should eg drift angle i was left with a nice smile on my face... you know the smile that says "i've just got a new tools" :D

however i am a hobby woodworker who is a uni and sometimes i can be to busy to get into the shop and turn a big piece of wood into a small piece of wood ;):lol:<_< ... i was told by a friend that’s it not a good idea to leave the blade tensioned up for long periods of time without using it. so i decide to use the quick de-tense leaver (that is meant to be used to change the blade) in order to slacken the blade.

is tis a good idea because i'm concerned that it will mess up the drift angle it the blade tension up in a slightly different place each time. also does it do any damage to the blade itself i.e. the tensioning and un-tensioning once a week :blink:

any advice it much appreciated

I think that releasing the tension on an idle bandsaw is one of those things that might help and can't hurt, so why not. I do it when I think about it for essentially the same reason Vic mentioned ... to keep the blade from deforming the tires in a non-uniform way. Aside from that, I don't personally think it matters very much whether you do or don't.

-- Russ

I've always read it's a good idea to take the tension off the blade when it's not in use. I'm hit or miss on doing it though.

I bought a crank handle for the blade tensioner on mine (no tension release arm on my old Jet) and when i remember too I just crank it down two times, then when I want to use it I just crank it back up exactly twice to get to working tension. Honestly, a lot of the time I forget to do it. I'm pretty sure it will have a detrimental effect on the blade and maybe the tires after a while to leave the tension on all the time though...

-Jim