Festool Edge Sander

jussi

This is a interesting new tool by Festool.  Released in October in US.  Basically a ROS with base that holds it 90 degrees to the surface.  But can be adjusted to other angles.  As a hobbyist I don't think I could justify the $564 price tag but could see how a pro might benefit from it.

• Like 2

What is the point of a battery powered tool when you hook up the Vac hose that has a plug right there?

Also i feel like a #4 from Veritas or Lie Nielsen would do a better job faster, maybe not on these epoxy monstrosities but with a 2" wide edge balancing a sander isn't that difficult.

2 hours ago, jussi said:

As a hobbyist I don't think I could justify the $564 price tag but could see how a pro might benefit from it.

You can buy it as an attachment for a sander you already have... https://www.festoolproducts.com/festool-205316-edge-sanding-guide-for-ets-etsc-125-sanders.html

$99 isn't awful, makes the sander and guide $200 total if you bought one of the Pro5 ltd sanders for $100 when they came out. Trouble is the ETS 125 & pro5 sanders aren't really heavy removal sanders and don't work well with grits lower than 150. It'd be better if they made this for the ETS EC line of sanders imo. Still a lot of overhead for a 1 trick pony, that's hard to justify as a pro.

40 minutes ago, Chestnut said:

epoxy monstrosities

Haha! my sentiments exactly. A local shop built a huge conference room table out of 2 beautiful book matched live edge slabs. There was a huge amount of epoxy filling the gaps & edges. It was for a local Cadillac dealership. I was in there & had a look at it. After about a year it already looked like s***t. Just enough minor wear to make the epoxy look really crappy.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Chestnut said:

What is the point of a battery powered tool when you hook up the Vac hose that has a plug right there?