house builder needs help crossing over

davestanton

Hi guys. In short I live in Australia and have been a carpenter since 16 years old. Did my apprenticeship in a joinery shop, went on to work as a subcontractor then started a company 20 years ago building cottages in much the same way construction in North America is done. 2 x 4 frames, cladding, cut rafters to the roof and often exposed for show.

I closed the company a couple of weeks back due to the massive down turn in the industry as well as personal circumstances and now am looking at setting up a joinery shop behind my garage to supplement my income. I am still a contractor but have decided no more house construction, maybe some fitout work for other contractors so need to remain mobile but looking forward I think that will diminish.

I would greatly appreciate some thoughts and comments on how others would address my situation if it were them in their mid 50's.

Here is what I have to work with.

Most general power tools, drills, mitre saw with stand, jig saw, 9 1/4 inch circular saw, thicknesser, power plane with tungsten blades, routers, battery nail guns and bradders, a standard collection of hand tools, compressor with retractable air line, leads and a bench mounted drill press.

The area I have to work in has an insulated roof about 8 feet high, rising to about 10 feet. The floor is concreted but with a slope of around 8 inches over 16 feet. The length of the area is about 40 feet. I have framed the walls but yet to line and clad so I can still get wiring etc in there. A couple of windows facing north. For the southern hemisphere this is the best orientation, you guys would probably work with windows facing south? There is an opening with a roller door about 9 feet wide into a 20 x 20 feet garage that I can use for spill over if needed, but would like to keep its use as a garage for vehicles.

I can do a floor plan layout if that helps.