Which lathe to buy

tonydem

im a casual hobbyist but i know the importance of getting good equipment the first time....

i did break my own rule of not getting a Harbor Freight lathe but forgive me, it was a 14" 40" for $50 and ive never done this before so i thought it would be a good way to start and see how i like it....

long story short... i like it.... alot.... but i cant justify spending 5-6-700+ on a lathe....

Ive seen the Grizzly mini lathe around 250 as well as Rocklers excelsior.... i really like Jet but they all seem to start around 450+ and i cant tell any real advantages over the previous pair...

any ideas?

This probably will not help you but, I just upgraded from a Jet 1442 to a 1642. I did this so I could get the electronic variable speed and get some speeds slower than 500 for chasing threads and larger stock. I did not expect to find many other differences. Was I wrong! The new one is quiter, smother, less vibration, a world of difference. I sold the old one to someone that had a midi, had taken a course where they had some Oneway and Powermattic lathes and knew they wanted to move up. I think you will see some difference in moving to the Griz or Rockler and a bigger difference moving to a Jet or Delta of any size. It is worth driving some distance to find some place that has lathes on display and look and feel them. Ever better is to take an intro course where the have several models so you can feel the difference. The last thing you want to do is spend 250 plus the 50 you already have invested, only to find you still want a better lathe and a better lathe... ;-)

BRuce

Save up your shekels and buy your last lathe first. Turners are notorious for the upgrade path. Identify what it is you want to turn most, then buy the best machine you possibly can. One good thing is, you can usually sell your used machine for a decent sum, which takes some of the sting out of the upgrade.