Poor man's roubo

Pwalter5110

Well, I headed to Lowe's to pick up some southern yellow pine to build my first "real" workbench. I am going to let it sit in my shop for a while. I bought 2X8s that they claim are kiln dried, but seems pretty heavy and wet. I'm not going to be as fancy as all of you guys. You all have built beautiful benches. Being a mechanic, I have access to a ton of ACME thread and nuts. I am probably going to make my own leg vise hardware. It will be far from as good as the benchcrafted hardware. I will probably buy the criss cross mechanism though from benchcrafted though. I'm not sure how I want to handle my tail vise situation though. I'd really like a twin screw style tail vise. But I might just throw on a quick release vise to use with dog holes.

I was just wondering if you guys had any tips to and tricks on the build. Like I said, I'm not going fancy, I just want something that holds my work pieces. Right now everything gets done on my table saw lol.

5 minutes ago, Brendon_t said:

Many a fancy bench have been built with SYP.

Do you have the guild build? 

Even if your not going with BC gear,  it's still totally worth watching before starting. 

I have a bunch of the guild builds, but not the roubo workbench. Honestly, the table seems pretty simple. Pegged mortise and tenons. The vises, and workbench top is where things look to get complicated.

If you don't think it's valuable, that's your choice. 

If I saw ten pictures of the bench, I could definately build it. But the finalienable fit and finish proabably wouldn't be as good. Watching the process laid out gives a lot of tips along the way and a logical order of operations.

14 minutes ago, Brendon_t said:

If you don't think it's valuable, that's your choice.