Socket Chisel vs Tang

G S Haydon

Hi All,

I have been looking at bevel edge chisels recently and I noticed that stanley uk now offer a set of socket chisels . I am aware that Lie-Nielsen also make them too but they are a bit out of my price range. I have no experience with socket chisels. I have read a few reviews on-line with mention of handles coming loose due to seasonal movement, with fixes such as sticking on the handles with epoxy! To me that seems such a shame/nuisance? I also watched a Lie-Nielsen video where they show taping and removing handles. It all seems a bit too much hassle or am I missing the point?

My first set of chisels some 15 years ago was a Sheffield made Marples Splitproof  set. They were always ready to go, I never needed to stick a handle on and the held a good edge. When my tool chest is finished I intend to add some chisels, new or second hand (not decided). My gut says stay with what you know and socket chisels are the Emperors New Clothes (not wanting to be rude and willing to be convinced otherwise) or am I missing the point?

Would welcome your opinions.

I have a few Lie Nielson socket chisels. The advantage with the bench chisel sets that I can see is that you tap the handle on its side. You can then remove it and, in LN case, replace it with a longer handle and do some paring with the same chisel, the longer handle giving you more control. When you are done tap it on its side again, put the original handle back on, and you are set back in bench chisel mode.

I haven't seen the Stanleys yet but will have a look.