Contemporary Style Lighted Display Shelf

I think this is a neat portion of the site and thought I would give it a try, 

A few projects in the works, and I chose this one for a few reasons. A) it is a Veneer project. I am new to the world of raw Veneer and for the past month been putting together my rig, and researching procedures and techniques.  I went to the Veneer Supply folk and bought the Build your own / parts kit Vacuum pump from them, also a 6’x4‘ 20ml   vacuum bag, Some Ultra Cat Glue, roller , saw and a few other bits and bobs. I built a set of Platen boards, however with experimentation now use the breather mesh on top and only a bottom platen. Its just easier to get in and out of the bag with the breather mesh. So all in I spent about $550 ish to get rolling with this system.

Also B) Im starting this project in the morning so I can document it right from the start, ( as well ask for help from y’all along the way if I get ina jam). 

My client wants a Contemporary style Display shelving unit. so I came up with this design  (this is my first real drawing with sketchup and have a total of about 2 hours playing with it so this is a conceptional drawing only) The substrate is 3/4 MDF , walnut & Tamo Raw veneer , 3/4” hammered Tube with a rainbow torch finish  ( done with chemical Metal Finishes Plus products) and 1’2 “ glass shelves. This Unit will be lighted from the top and bottom, The bottom with the up lighting is not final as to how im going to do it so its missing from the sketch at this time. My basic thought is to do all LED and have the top lighting white and the up lighting a light amber to accent the wood inside the shelf. Ok thats the Idea lets see how many things I can change through out the building process as I seem on these sorta things to use the evolving design theory as steps get completed. Ok here we go ! weeeee

DispySlf2_zpsb46b2d4c.jpg

DispySlf_zpsa9bb7e44.jpg

DispySlf1_zps8f7cb83d.jpg