sanding wipe-on poly... need help!

nroberts

Hey guys and gals, first time poster here. I'm fairly new to woodworking and can't get enough of it.

I am in the process of refinishing an oak table top (it was painted over and looking pretty sad). After sanding it down to 220 grit, I decided to try the Miniwax wipe-on poly (non gloss finish), since I am inexperienced with finishing and it seemed user friendly.

Searching online helped, but also confused, everyone has a slightly different approach, but what seemed to be a common thread was to sand every few coats (lightly because the stuff is so thin). So I tried sanding with 400 grit, only to find it took the finish off too fast and too much, and left scratches as well. I don't know how people can sand much lighter, must be a learned touch! After abandoning that, I just barely brushed the surface where i felt a few bumps from dust, etc, and left it alone, and proceeded to add layers over the course of a week.

At layer 15 I thought it looked good, so I tried what several people online had recommended for a final sand- automotive sandpaper and water, with a drop of soap as lubricant. Instead of a smooth shinier surface, i now have a duller surface than I previously had, and every line of the open grain is still shiny. Granted, i did not pick the glossy poly, but i thought it would be a bit shinier after the fine sanding.

So, rookie mistake? Am I missing something obvious? Maybe the final sand was meant for high gloss only, I just wanted a smooth surface. By the way, I sanded 2 days after the last coat, which i thought was plenty of time. Any wisdom from the experienced ones here would be greatly appreciated!

I love minwax wipe on poly, and use it all the time. I typically use the satin formula as well.

Here is a good routine I picked up from FWW when using wipe n poly:

1. Choose nice boards. No finish can make an okay board look fantastic. Take your time and choose your face stock carefully.

2. Sand, and vacuum.