newbie HVLP question

wintersedge

First off I have no spraying experience so this entire question may just be ignorance.

How much is it worth buying an HVLP? In that, will I see a better application vs using a brush? Is it exponentially faster? Are the results more consistent? What is a good price range to have to get a unit that is beginner friendly and give me lots of head room to grow into?

I have only used shellac and BLO to finish past projects but I am looking to try new finishes and might as well learn new techniques.

Cheers

Great tool! Yes it will provide a much better finish! It is a lot faster unless you are doing something very small. I have a pro HVLP so no help on current models but I remember my first small turbine did a great job until it got dropped 4 ft while running. After that it sounded funny but still ran for a few weeks until it died. Now I tie a tether to the bench so if the hose snags I don't pull the turbine off the bench.

HVLP made a huge difference in my finish projects! 

Is it faster?  Depends on size of the project and amount of clean up. 

Are the results more consistent?  Yes, but you do have to learn a little technique and practice a little.

What's a good price for a beginner?  Pretty much depends on your budget.  I will say that once you jump into this, you probably will not go back so, don't be too shy about spending a little more on the first one.

• Like 1

I've been using Waterlox oil varnish for over 10 years and love the product, but some large projects last year made me dislike the long dry and cure times. My wife found a bathroom vanity renovation idea on Pinterest and no way 30 days of oil stinking up our bathroom was going to fly.