New band saw advice

Dhall65

I think the OP is saying that the 17" version is being priced cheaper then some other people price their 14" saws (not that grizzly is pricing their 17 cheaper then their 14"). 

At any rate, I no experience with grizzly bandsaws. However if you google you can find quite a few people with words to say on it. Pay attention to models not so much the paint job. ;)

• Like 1

Thank you AppleWood. 

I don't own any Grizzly saw. Most bandsaws are now made in Taiwan, one of the lists are Grizzly bandsaws. If we have two options, example , Rikon 14" or Grizzly 17" , many would probably go with Rikon even though they're almost priced the same, (or even higher ) .

I have no personal experience with Grizzly but I've heard that they have good customer service/ value. I've read quite a few reviews about 17" Grizzly saw and it's all positive notes. At the end of the day, it's still your call.  Your kind of work would depend on what type/big of band saw you need. 

Has any one used the grizzly 17band saw. Grizzly has a 30 year anniversary special, priced cheaper than most 14" bandsaws. Any feed back on this saw?

Thanks

Don

I have the 14" as well w/ riser block and at the time, it came w/ a bitchin fence that I wouldn't trade for. I don't have any other saw to compare it to, but it re-saws great.

One of my friends has been using a 17" Griz BS for several years now with no issues. It's no Minimax MM16, but is a capable BS.  Grizzly often offers the most tool for the money by selling directly, and cutting out dealer profit (and dealer support)....they often roll from the same factories as Jet, GI, Steel City, and others.  If you're willing to be your own middleman, they can offer excellent value.  If you prefer dealer support, expect to pay a bit more for something comparable.