Help me design my finishing room

markhochstein

The attic of my shop is an unfinished space that is 30' long by 12' wide. I'm in desperate need of a finishing space so I'm seriously considering erecting a wall across the space to make a 12' x 12' finishing room on the far end. It's less than optimum because I have to carry projects up the stairs to finish them and it's not climate controlled (yet), but it's my only option so it will just have to do. There is a window on that end of the attic that will allow me to exhaust overspray. I'm just beginning to formulate my plan and I would love to hear any lessons learned you guys have or pointers to online resources relevant to this subject. This will be done on a shoestring budget so please keep that in mind.

Things I'm wondering about:

lighting

electrical provisions

physical design

dust inhibition

Thanks!

Oh, no....Loogie, say it ain't so! Is there no other place you can spray? Have you considered setting up a temporary both inside your shop floor main area? If not on to your questions:

Lighting would be of great concern so you would need in my opinion, general lighting, more of those $$$ fluorescent's, plus a few sources of raking light to check finish build, look for sags, etc.

Electrical - probably one circuit for your lighting and one for some recepts, possibly another for a/c and if you plan on dragging your air compressor up there too, you'll need one for that as well. Do you have room in your existing panel to add circuits?

Physical design - is your attic conventionally framed or trussed? Will you be able to place loads on these members? If yes, I would probably deck out an area with 1/2" ply or better. Is this an A-frame or hip roof, how much head clearance do you have? Will you even be able to bring large carcases up into the attic?