Cheap/simple dust collection

Woody1

Hi everyone,

I'm still new to woodworking and am having some serious dust issues. I have a very small "shop" in our laundry room (basement) and my wife is going crazy. Not to mention its really unhealthy to be breathing this air. Any time I turn my table saw on the room becomes "hot boxed" with saw dust. For the most part I have cheap Ryobi tools and mostly use the Ryobi table saw, sander, jigsaw, and miter saw. 

Any suggestions for a good dust collection that won't cost an arm and a leg? 

Thanks!

Unfortunately the tools themselves have as much to do with dust collection as the source of the collection.  For those little tools all you need is any old shop vac and the appropriate fittings...but at least three of the four tools you listed are pretty pathetic for DC even with higher-end tools.  Ryobi is surely worse.  I wouldn't expect any miracles but give it a try and prepare yourself for some outside-the-box modifications.

You're opening a can of worms...  There's a ton of info out there on these forums and elsewhere...   Here's a few basic points though:

• For your own safety, buy and wear a respirator...preferably wear it all the time while you are in there but at the very least while you are working or cleaning up.
  • To keep stuff generally clean, get a decent shop vac (or a Festool CT) and get a Dust Deputy...it should hook up to your table saw and of course you can use the various attachments to clean up after working with jigsaw, miter saw, etc.  The Dust Deputy will capture almost all of it into easy-to-dump buckets...so you can put a good filter on the shop vac itself (for example I use a drywall dust bag AND a hepa filter in my vac since Dust Deputy gets 99% of the stuff...I know others in the forum do that as well).