Musclechuck router collet

prov163

I bought a Musclechuck router collet at the Atlanta Woodworking Show. I saw Rollie Johnson's video review and was intrigued. I spoke to him at the show and he reinforced how well made it is and how well it works. I bought one for my PC 7618 which is installed in my Woodpecker's router table. I tell you that only so that you know the conditions in which I use it. I've been using it for about 4 months  

1.  It is very well made. Great machining. Easy to install. Just replace your standard collet with the Musclechuck and tighten it (not over tight) down.  Rollie mentioned the possibility of wobble and said just reinstall and it should be fine. I had no problems at all. 

2. Installing bits is a little strange at first. Instead of "pushing" the router bit into the collet, you just insert it and let it go. It will gently slide down on its own. That's a testament to the incredible tolerances. Once it stops, just pull it up into position. At this point you tighten a set screw, again, not over tight, and you're ready to set your height and fence as normal, and rout. Bit changes are a breeze.