cross cut sled for my table saw ????

bullson

hi all and marry Christmas... just looking for a bit of advice. here's my question: do I need to make a cross cut sled for my table saw if i have a good mitre gauge :blink: i know a few people who swear by them but i have the incra mitre gauge which suit me well.

i have never used a sled system before but would not be against making one if the community here feel they are a good idea ;)

any tip and advice would be greatly appreciated

It depends on what you'll be cutting. For wide boards or panels I use the sled because it gives much better control. I also use it for cutting small stock for the same reason. I too have an Incra miter gauge and use it when I'm too lazy to get the sled out, but I mostly use it for angled cuts.

I have two sleds, one for the blade at 90' and the other at 45'. I also have an Incra sled for 45'. Most of the time it comes down to which is closest at hand and how much of my sacrificial fence is left on the Incra. ;)

I'm not going to build one until I need it. Now that I have a jointer I won't need a jointing sled for my table-saw. I imagine that a taper sled will be the one I build first, but who knows? Maybe it will be a panel cutter.

There are multi-function sleds, but no single sled does everything, so I figure I might as well wait until I know what I need before I start building things.