Morris Chair Finish - Marc Uses Lacquer Over Waterlox

SeventyFix

All,

First off, thank you for any insight.  I am a total novice finisher so please excuse my ignorance.  I'm finishing up the Morris chair build from the Wood Whisperer Guild (Marc's guidance has been a great learning experience).  Marc uses Waterlox as a first coat.  I believe that it is oil-based and penetrates into the wood to enhance the appearance of the grain.  He then uses three coats of lacquer with no sealer in between (sanding sealer/shellac).

I have applied the Waterlox and it looks great (see pictures).  My questions are as follows:

1. What is the reason for applying the lacquer?  It seems like Waterlox is used as a finish on a lot of projects (even floors).  It's a lot of extra work to apply the lacquer and it will take a lot of extra time.  Thankfully I have a friend who has a professional woodworking shop and he generously volunteered to spray the lacquer. 
  2. One of the senior and accomplished woodworkers at my local WoodCraft (shout out to Howard Hale), suggested sanding sealer between the Waterlox and lacquer.  I formed the impression that the lacquer might not adhere well to the oil-based Waterlox.  I could be wrong but I don't see Marc doing this in the video.  Any thoughts?

Thank you in advance.

P.S. The wood species is figured cherry and was purchased from Horizon Wood Products in Pennsylvania (thank you Dan Terbovich).
http://www.horizonwood.com/

20160403_192150.jpg

20160403_192210.jpg

20160403_192255.jpg

20160404_200100.jpg

The grain is more wavy and wilder than the pictures show.  No stain or dye was applied.  The wood was sanded to 220 grit, cleaned with compressed air outdoors, vacuumed, rubbed down with tack cloth and wiped with 2 coats of Waterlox.

• Like 1

BEAUTIFUL job. The wood is just amazing and your attention to detail matching the grain and construction. Can't say it enough!