Finish for cedar being used on screen porch

Tina Mezera Kahl

Hi there - I'm a total newbie at wood staining/finishing (beyond just basic deck staining). We are building a new house, and silly me, I offered to stain the cedar tongue and groove planks that will be used on the ceiling and walls of the porch - not realizing this would consist of 79 boards that are 14' in length. I also didn't realize I would be given a very short time frame to get this done (like, a few days). Yikes.

I live in WI, so the cedar/screen porch will be exposed to significant temp changes and humidity, but it will not be in any direct sunlight.

I went to SW, and they recommended BAC wipe-on stain. That went on beautifully, and that part of the project is done. For finishing, they recommended an oil-based fast-dry varnish. I applied one coat to a test board last night, and I hated the way it went on. It was sticky and uneven (despite my best efforts) and hard to apply. You can also see some overlap marks (again despite my best efforts). I'm now considering trying an aerosol spar urethane finish instead. It seems like that is better intended for outdoor use than this varnish, and I think the spray application would be faster. So, my first question is about what type of finish you'd recommend?

Second, a friend of mine who has done more staining than I have noticed that some of my boards were rough. (No, I didn't sand prior to staining - I took some advice from others who said they wouldn't bother sanding.) From what I've read, I think I should apply a coat of urethane then sand with 220 sandpaper? Is that right, or is there something else I should do at this point to smooth the boards without removing the stain or changing the color?