Dewalt DW735 Planer - No Power

BryanFaz

My Dewalt planer will not turn on. I was trying to feed a large slab of walnut through it when it quit. It was an awkward sized slab...the planer was cutting much because it wouldn’t feed the slab through the planer. After several minutes of unsuccessful feeding it simply quit. I tried the circuit breaker on the planer to no avail. I checked my electric panel...no breakers were tripped. I had the planer connected to an extension cord plugged into a 20amp dedicated outlet. I put a meter on the start switch and the circuit breaker on the planer. Both appear to have continuity...but I’m no electrician. Oh I did check the brushes and didn’t notice any unusual wear/tear. The fan (impeller maybe?) blade had one broken blade...chipped off rather. I guess I could start by replacing the start switch, circuit breaker, brushes, fan blade...but wish there was a better way to diagnose the problem. I tried to remove the armature from the motor house but couldn’t get the pulley off to pull the shaft through the motor housing. 
That should be plenty to get started. All suggestions are appreciated. 

How close to flat was the slab?  If it was rough and not  very close to flat, when it hits a high spot it'll bog down and shut off. let it sit for a while, then recheck your panel for that circuit, and then retry the breaker on the planer. On bigger boards going through the 735, you have to take tiny cuts, because the large part of the blade is working and not just a small part.  If you slab was 10 or 12 inches wide, you have to accept a thinner cut and a slower cut, the planer is working much harder than normal.

• Like 2