RED OAK

RusticJoy

I know you all think I am a MASTER woodworker, but yes yes I too need help every so often.

So I have never finished anything before, I have made a coffee table for my wife out of red oak. I know it is a very poris wood and if I remember right it needs to be filled before finishing. Am I right or wrong? I want to stain it to make it darker because my wife likes a darker look. Please help me out here guys, I have put a lot of time into this table and want it to turn out right.

I have finished a couple of projects now that were made out of oak. Some I have stained, some I have not, but I used a wipe-on poly for all of them. Since I have only been woodworking for a few years now, I am still new to all of this, but my understanding is that if you want a glass-like finish that is really smooth then you should use something to fill the pores. If you want the feel of the wood grain left in your project, then you do not. Personally I like having the wood grain look and feel to my projects. I understand your worrying about messing up a project that you have put a lot of work into. I always get nervous, especially when I am staining the piece. So far I am pleased with the way each one has turned out, but I still get nervous.

But you are a Master woodworker (but only an apprentice poster for the moment :)).

Okay, sensei-RJ, red oak is porous, yes, but you don't need to fill it to finish it. Well, unless you plan on putting a lacquer or other mirror-flat finish on it. Personally, grain-filled red oak with lacquer on it looks like, uhm, what do you call that vinyl wallpaper people in the '70s would line their kitchen drawers with? Yeah, that.

I've never stained oak before so no help there. Usually just clear coat it. I think stains are going to super highlight the grain. If you go pretty dark (like General Finishes Java), the contrast won't be so harsh (and likely will be quite nice).